Shiny of the Week – Feb. 11, 2011


(As in “oooooooh, shiny! I must have this!”)

So I’m going to try out an idea to do a post a week on some sort of piece of gear that I really enjoy using while camping or for other Scouting purposes. We’ll see how it goes.

For the first one, since I’ve got the dutch oven thing going on for the last post and a few previous to this, I’m going to make this my first “Shiny of the Week.”

The Coleman Parchment Paper Dutch Oven Liner
Coleman Dutch Oven Liners

These things are the bomb! They make the worst part of dutch oven cooking (clean up) the best part! So worth the cost. I know lots of units will use aluminum foil to line their dutch ovens and that works but whatever you’re cooking (say beans or chili) could get through where the foil overlaps or stirring can destroy the foil and then you get baked on bean residue in your dutch oven (and possibly a little extra aluminum in your diet if you don’t watch out). These liners are so much easier than that. When you’re done you just lift it out and the already clean dutch oven is ready to be oiled and put away. Just like that! I am now a fan.

I’ll even go to the Walmarts to buy them, and I make a point to never shop there normally! So kind of a short post today, but that’s my first “Shiny of the Week.” What do you guys think about the liners, or what method have you found that works well on making dutch oven cleanup easier?

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Kevin Devin  On February 11, 2011 at 6:47 am

    I LOVE them! Cleanup is a snap! However, diehard Dutch Oven owners tend to give me a hard time because of their use. But that’s ok… while their cleaning up the DO’s I’m kicked back at the campfire relaxing. :-)

    • middletownscouter  On February 15, 2011 at 2:23 pm

      Most of the die hard dutch oven people I know do the foil lining whenever they cook anything that would require them to have to potentially reseason because food gets burnt on. But I’m with you, haters gonna hate, so let ‘em complain and I’ll be relaxing by the campfire while they’re scrubbing and reseasoning their dutch ovens.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 186 other followers

