EAEOOU ILTTROU (100 Days of Scouting, Day 8)


Tonight I am going to induct my five Webelos II’s into the Order of the Fork.  I have been trying to restart this tradition in our pack for four years, but keep forgetting at each campout.  So tonight over pizza they will be “forked in” and become members.  At the Blue & Gold at the end of the month, they will fork in one new member each and I will fork in one of the leaders.  Then it will be up to them to carry on the tradition in the pack.

What is the Order of the Fork?  It is “a society so secret, even it’s own members don’t know it’s purpose!”  Seriously though, it’s more of a tongue in cheek / goofy thing, at least the version I remember.  I know that the Order of the Fork exists in Scout camps and non-Scout camps alike all over, and in some it sounds as if there was some hazing or some sort of ritual embarassment going on to it’s new members.  That isn’t the case in our OotF, anyway.

For the pack, I envision it as more of an honor society for the pack.  Scouts who are very active within the pack or who are model campers or whatever will get forked in at a meal, whether it is at our Blue & Gold or some other camp out or event.  Then they in turn will become members.

They make a spoof square knot patch, and a spoof lodge flap for it.  I ordered the square knot patches for my boys.  We also have a segment patch program that we are implementing where each time a Scout camps with us he has the opportunity to purchase a segment patch.  When all together, the segments will encircle a 3″ round patch (the size of the custom camp patches we order each year for our summer campout).  The segments are:

  • Tiger Cub
  • Cub Scout
  • Webelos Scout
  • Boy Scout
  • Leader
  • Order of the Fork

 

Pack 19 Camp Segment Patches & 2010 Summer Campout Patch

That’s our preview artwork of the 2010 summer campout patch along with the segments patches.  They look even better in real life!

We have about 400 total segments patches at my house right now.  If a person camps with us while a registered Scout or Leader they are eligible to buy ($1 each) the segment they have earned.  Right now there is only one person I know of who is eligible to purchase all of the segments due to their history as a Cub Scout with Pack 19, Boy Scout with Troop 18, and now as a leader with Pack 19.

Hopefully after my boys are gone into Boy Scouts the tradition will continue into the future with the pack for years to come.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • thetrainerscorner  On February 16, 2011 at 7:11 pm

    This is such a great thing. Do you know if it ever had a national presence? Or was it more of a regional tradition? I read about it once a few years ago, and can’t remember.

    If I was still in Cub Scouts I would love to try to get this going in the pack. What fun!

    – Scouter Jeff

  • middletownscouter  On February 16, 2011 at 7:42 pm

    I think it is at random camps (both Scout and non-Scout) all over and it seems like several different OA lodges will use it as well I guess. That’s just from what I can tell by looking around on the internet, though.

    It was rather hilarious last night when I had to teach them all the song and induct them all by marching around the room singing the song and each boy joining the group one at a time and that boy “forking” in the next one as they all slowly joined the procession of singing boys. Wish I had a video of it. Maybe I’ll try to get one at our Blue & Gold in a couple of weeks, each boy will be “forking in” a new boy and I will be getting one of the leaders!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 186 other followers

